The Zugspitze in Garmisch Partenkirchen in Bavaria - the highest mountain in Germany
 Back
Distance from hotel: 89.0 km

Zugspitze

The Zugspitze, at 2,964 metres above sea level, is the highest peak of the Wetterstein Mountains as well as the highest mountain in Germany. It lies south of the town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, and the border between Germany and Austria runs over its western summit. South of the mountain is the Zugspitzplatt, a high karst plateau with numerous caves. On the flanks of the Zugspitze are three glaciers, including the two largest in Germany: the Northern Schneeferner with an area of 30.7 hectares and the Höllentalferner with an area of 24.7 hectares. The third is the Southern Schneeferner which covers 8.4 hectares.
 
The Zugspitze was first conquered on 27 August 1820 by Josef Naus, his survey assistant, Maier, and mountain guide, Johann Georg Tauschl. Today there are three normal routes to the summit: one from the Höllental valley to the northeast; another out of the Reintal valley to the southeast; and the third from the west over the Austrian Cirque (Österreichische Schneekar). One of the best known ridge routes in the Eastern Alps runs along the knife-edged Jubilee Ridge (Jubiläumsgrat) to the summit, linking the Zugspitze, the Hochblassen and the Alpspitze. For mountaineers there is plenty of accommodation in the vicinity. On the western summit of the Zugspitze itself is the Münchner Haus and on the western slopes is the Wiener-Neustädter Hut.
 
Three cable cars run to the top of the Zugspitze. The first, the Tyrolean Zugspitze Cable Car, was built in 1926 and terminated on an arête below the summit before the terminus was moved to the actual summit in 1991. A rack railway, the Bavarian Zugspitze Railway, runs inside the northern flank of the mountain and ends on the Zugspitzplatt, from where a second cable car takes passengers to the top. The rack railway and the Eibsee Cable Car, the third cableway, transport an average of 500,000 people to the summit each year. In winter, nine ski lifts cover the ski area on the Zugspitzplatt.
 
The weather station, opened in 1900, and the research station in the Schneefernerhaus are mainly used to conduct climate research.

Zugspitze
Olympiastraße 27 
82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Contact:
Tel: (08821) 797-0
Fax: (08821) 797-900
Email: zugspitzbahn@zugspitze.de

Book room online
Arrival
 
 
Departure
 
 
Persons
01
Advantages of
Direct Booking

Newsletter

We will inform you about news, events and offers.

Top News

Direct booking benefits on this website
5 per cent direct booking advantage, conference online bookable and more

...more learn more

Football events

FC Bayern München - Sport-Club Freiburg
13/10/2017 - 15/10/2017
FC Bayern München  - Sport-Club Freiburg

...more learn more
FC Bayern München - RB Leipzig
27/10/2017 - 29/10/2017
FC Bayern München - RB Leipzig

...more learn more
FC Bayern München - 1. FC Augsburg
17/11/2017 - 19/11/2017
FC Bayern München - 1. FC Augsburg

...more learn more

Concerts

Phoenix
24/09/2017
Phoenix: Pop and progression First signs of a new album 2017, tour in the autumn End of September three shows in Munich, Cologne and Hamburg The French quartet Phoenix is \u200b\u200bone of the brightest and most successful indie pop bands. From album to album, the four ambitious musicians continue to develop their style consistently and at the same time look at ...

...more learn more
Edguy
24/09/2017
Phil Rudd
26/09/2017
<script>
(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,'script','https://www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga');

ga('create', 'UA-22586006-1', 'auto');
ga('send', 'pageview');

</script>

Die Zugspitze in Garmisch Partenkirchen ist der höchste Berg in Deutschland
  • Thema
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr.
  • Thema
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr.
  • Thema
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr.
  • Thema
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr.
Jetzt Buchen
Entfernung vom Hotel: 89,0 km

Zugspitze

Die Zugspitze ist mit 2.964 Metern über Normalhöhennull der höchste Berg Deutschlands und des Wettersteingebirges. Sie liegt südwestlich von Garmisch-Partenkirchen, und über ihrem Westgipfel verläuft die Grenze zwischen Deutschland und Österreich. Südlich des Berges schließt sich das Zugspitzplatt an, eine Karst-Hochfläche mit zahlreichen Höhlen. An den Flanken der Zugspitze befinden sich drei Gletscher, darunter die beiden größten Deutschlands: der Nördliche Schneeferner mit 30,7 Hektar und der Höllentalferner mit 24,7 Hektar; außerdem der Südliche Schneeferner mit 8,4 Hektar.

Erstmals bestiegen wurde die Zugspitze am 27. August 1820 von Josef Naus, seinem Messgehilfen Maier und dem Bergführer Johann Georg Tauschl. Heute gibt es drei Normalwege auf den Gipfel: Von Nordosten aus dem Höllental, von Südosten aus dem Reintal und von Westen über das Österreichische Schneekar. Mit dem Jubiläumsgrat, der Zugspitze, Hochblassen und Alpspitze verbindet, führt eine der bekanntesten Gratrouten der Ostalpen auf die Zugspitze. Für Bergsteiger gibt es in der unmittelbaren Umgebung zahlreiche Unterkünfte. Direkt an der Zugspitze befinden sich das Münchner Haus auf dem Westgipfel und die Wiener-Neustädter-Hütte in der Westflanke.

Zu den Zugspitzgipfel führen drei Seilbahnen. Die erste, die Tiroler Zugspitzbahn, wurde 1926 gebaut und endete auf einem Grat unterhalb des Gipfels, bevor die Endstation 1991 auf den Gipfel verlegt wurde. Eine Zahnradbahn, die Bayerische Zugspitzbahn, führt durch das Innere der Nordflanke und endet auf dem Zugspitzplatt, von wo eine weitere Seilbahn zum Gipfel hinauf führt. Mit der Bayerischen Zugspitzbahn und der Eibseeseilbahn, der dritten Luftseilbahn, gelangen jährlich durchschnittlich 500.000 Menschen auf den Gipfel. Im Winter bedienen neun Skilifte ein Skigebiet auf dem Zugspitzplatt. 

Seit 1897 steht auf der Zugspitze das Münchner Haus mit Wetterstation (Fraunhofer Institut- und Klimaforschung) In der 1900 eingeweihten meteorologischen Station und der Forschungsstation Schneefernerhaus werden hauptsächlich Klimaforschungen betrieben.

Besonderheiten:
Bayerische Zugspitzbahn - in 75 Minuten mit der Zahnradbahn von Garmisch-Partenkirchen aus zum Gipfel
Gletscherskigebiet von November - Mai
Seilbahn von Ehrwald (Tirol) und Grainau

Zugspitze
Olympiastraße 27 
82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Kontakt
Tel: (08821) 797-0
Fax: (08821) 797-900
Email: zugspitzbahn@zugspitze.de​
ab 135 € p.P. Wellness Pur Paket zum Wellness Paket
Wellness Urlaub in der Therme Erding bei München - Attraktive Hotel Arrangement Pakete zur Auswahl.
ab 149,00 € p.P. Kuschelwochenende zum Kurzlaubs Angebot 
Kuschelwochenende für Verliebte in München - Romantik Wochenende im 4 Sterne Best Western Plus Hotel Erb in München/Parsdorf .
ab 133,50 € p.P. Best Western Schäppchen 4 Tage - 3 Nächte Angebot
München in 3 Nächten und 3 Tagen erleben und erkunden. Unser Best Western Schnäppchen für Familien mit Kindern - hier macht München Urlaub Spass! Weitere Informationen.

Gäste bewerten das Best Western Plus Hotel Erb

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Erb München Messe Ost - Top Bewertung bei Holydaycheck